a common reader


· 2 February 2014 |  by Janantoon
· Published in: Muziek Janantoon
· Tagged with: ·

HindemithPaul Hindemith

  • A Frog He Went A-Courting
  • Sonata for Solo Cello, op.25 no.3
  • Three Pieces for Cello 7 Piano, op.8
  • Sonata for Cello & Piano, op.11

uitvoerders: Judith Ermert, cello & Daan Vandewalle, piano

opgenomen: 2013
editie: Fuga Libera
nummer: 5400439007130

The year 2013 marks the fiftieth anniversary of the death of Paul Hindemith, one of the most important composers of the twentieth century. It is for this reason that the German cellist Judith Ermert decided to record the repertory for cello and piano, too rarely played and recorded. With the Belgian pianist Daan Vandewalle, a specialist in avant-garde music, she embarks on a journey that explores all facets of Hindemith’s artistic development, ranging from the post-Romantic language of the Three Pieces for cello and piano op.8 to his own rhythmic style, known as Motorik, which echoes the industrial era in the Sonata for solo cello op.25.

Comments are closed.